Albert Gallatin Area School Board – Special Meeting Minutes D. Ferd Swaney Cafeteria Thursday, August 3, 2023

**MEMBERS PRESENT:** President Eric Miller, Vice President Doug Sholtis, Secretary Betty Moser, Treasurer Ryan Porupski, Carla Franks, David Howard, Carl Planiczka

MEMBERS ABSENT: Paul Dunham, Jamey Capozza

ALSO PRESENT: Superintendent Christopher Pegg, Solicitor Amy Schrempf

President Miller called the meeting to order at 6:01 pm followed by a moment of Silent Meditation and the Pledge of Allegiance after which all present responded to roll call.

## **PUBLIC FORUM**

None

### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

A motion was made by Sholtis second by Moser to enter into executive session at 6:08 pm for personnel, potential litigation and collective bargaining.

An executive session was held August 3, 2023 from 6:08 pm – 6:53 pm for personnel, potential litigation and collective bargaining.

A motion was made by Howard second by Sholtis to resume meeting at 7:01 pm.

## **ADODT AGENDA**

A motion was made by Porupski second by Sholtis to adopt the agenda as presented.

All members present voting in favor of motion.

# **APPROVE MINUTES**

A motion was made by Moser second by Franks to approve minutes of the regular meeting held on July 19, 2023. All members present voting in favor of motion.

### SOLICITOR'S REPORT

None

### **POLICIES**

A motion was made by Franks second by Howard to approve third reading of Policy 800 Records Management. All members present voting in favor of motion.

A motion was made by Howard second by Moser to approve third reading of Policy 830 Security of Computerized Personal Information/Breach Notification.

All members present voting in favor of motion.

A motion was made by Franks second by Howard to approve third reading of Policy 830.1 Data Governance – Storage/Security.

All members present voting in favor of motion.

### **PERSONNEL**

A motion was made by Howard second by Planiczka to approve motions under Personnel Item A through U. All members present voting in favor of motion.

### **RESIGNATION**

- A. Accept the resignation of Jami Kimmel, Cafeteria Employee effective July 21, 2023.
- B. Accept the resignation of Sara McAfee, Special Education Aide effective July 20, 2023.
- C. Accept the resignation of Allie Richter, Secondary Special Education Instructor effective July 27, 2023.

## **LEAVE OF ABSENCE**

- D. Approve Kayla Grimm, Elementary Instructor an unpaid leave of absence for the 2023-2024 school term pending receipt of proper documentation.
- E. Grant Megan Ulishney, Elementary Instructor an unpaid leave of absence for the 2023-24 school term.

### **SABBATICAL**

F. Grant Elizabeth Fike, Elementary Instructor a Sabbatical leave for the 2023-24 school term.

### **RESCIND HIRE**

- G. Rescind the hire of Lauren Clemmer, Elementary Special Education Director.
- H. Rescind the awarding of Tiffany Duncan as extra-curricular head teacher at AG North Middle School.
- I. Rescind the hire of Emily Singo, Special Education Instructor.

### **NEW HIRE**

- J. Hire Dylan Dubois as extra-curricular high school percussion instructor pending receipt of all proper documents.
- K. Hire Thomas VanCamp as Middle School Head Soccer Coach pending receipt of all proper documents.
- L. Hire Matthew (Shea) Fleenor as Middle School Assistant Soccer Coach.

# **ELIMINATE AND CREATE POSTIONS**

- M. Grant permission to eliminate high school Learning Support/Math position.
- N. Grant permission to create and post high school Learning Support position.

# **NEW SCHOOL POLICE HIRES**

- O. Appoint John Krause as a School Police Officer for a one-year term commencing his first workday of the 2023-24 school year and terminating June 30, 2024. Pursuant upon the Fayette County Court of Common Pleas so appointing him pursuant to Section 1302-C of the Pennsylvania Public School Code, written employment agreement as presented and pending receipt of all proper documents.
- P. Appoint David Bell as a School Police Officer for a one-year term commencing his first workday of the 2023-24 school year and terminating June 30, 2024. Pursuant upon the Fayette County Court of Common Pleas so appointing him pursuant to Section 1302-C of the Pennsylvania Public School Code, written employment agreement as presented and pending receipt of all proper documents.

# Page 3

### **NEW HIRES**

Q. Hire Nadine Dirda as Special Education Aide at Masontown Elementary.

R. Hire Caroline Ryan as Bus Monitor.

### **TENURE**

- S. Grant tenure to the following teachers as defined in PA School Code:
- 1. Laura Chapman, Elementary Instructor
- 2. Christine Spaw-Moats, Elementary Instructor
- 3. Natalie Messich, High School Instructor
- 4. Taylor Saghy, High School Instructor

Superintendent Pegg congratulated instructors on receiving tenure.

## **AWARD POSITIONS**

- T. Award the following position for the 2023-24 School Year:
- 1. Tiffany Duncan Learning Support High School
- 2. Valerie Popielarcheck Learning Support AG North Middle

### **NEW HIRES**

- U. Hire the following Instructors at the appropriate step.
- 1. Christina George 5th Grade at Friendship Hill 1 year only
- 2. Jodi Johnson Learning Support, at Step 8, to be placed by Superintendent
- 3. Tia Moore Lifeskills Support, at Step 8, to be placed by Superintendent

### **SUBSTITUTE LIST**

A motion was made by Planiczka second by Franks to grant permission to add the following to the substitute list pending receipt of all proper documents.

Professional: Madison Powell, Kaitlyn Kotarsky, Jheri Janesko, Jordan Hart, Mallory Jackson, Skylar Wellington, Jennifer Blout

Non-Professional: Tambra Huseman

All members present voting in favor of motion.

# **STUDENT TEACHER**

A motion was made by Moser second by Franks to authorize Rebecca Sykes, Carlow University student teacher from August 21, 2023 through December 15, 2023 to be placed at Smithfield Elementary and AG High School. All members present voting in favor of motion.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

The next regular meeting will be held Wednesday, August 16, 2023 at 6:00 pm in D. Ferd Swaney cafeteria.

A motion was made by Franks second by Howard to adjourn the meeting 7:05 pm.

All members present voting in favor of motion.